top of page

Day 24 || 30 Day Anime Challenge

 

Moment That Shocked You The Most In Any Anime

The answer to this question is a rather heavy one so for those with a faint heart, I have a few words to say...

WARNING! TRIGGERING CONTENT AHEAD! VIEWER DISCRETION IS ADVISED!

Still here? You're one brave creature. So without further ado, here's my answer.

The Eclipse Moment In Berserk

If you want to see a pretty character, they have it. If you want to see an ugly character, they have it. If you want to see a moment that could screw your mind and ask yourself "What in blazes have I watched?"...Well, they have it. Just when you think watching Hentai and Games of Thrones would make you feel invulnerable to such imagery, NOPE! Berserker proved to me how naive and wrong I am. Those scenes were, hands down, one of the many shocking (and disturbing) moments I could find in the series. Take my word for it that the manga is even worse. (Don't lie to yourself. I know you want to see it~)

It basically consists of a troupe of mercenaries who called themselves 'Band of the Hawk' who was framed and became fugitives later in the years. After saving their captain, Griffith, from a whole year of imprisonment and torture, the gang find themselves getting enveloped in an alternate dimension on the night of the Eclipse. Demons start to rise and start to devour the whole troupe as sacrifices for Angel's descent.

The image they portray were nothing but despair and outward dark that every dialogue really breaks your sense of humanity. It's like fighting against your desire without going insane completely. In a way, their gruesome death is similar to Attack on Titan.

The scene doesn't just end there though. Far from it. Here on out, it's just shocking. [I]Casca being raped by demons. Sounds like some hentai kink, right? It's actually worse. Added to the fact that he couldn't do anything to help his fallen comrades, Guts was forced to watch Casca being raped not only by hordes of demons but also Femto who does it just to spite him. Guts even went ahead to hack his left hand to reach out to her but were unfortunately pinned down again. By then, it left her in a trauma, causing Casca to regress in an infantile and largely mute amnesiac after being rescued.

 

My Thoughts & Opinions

As shocking and disturbing as it was, I find Berserk to be enjoyable to read or watch. It played out nicely with the theme 'To Kill or Be Killed' kind of setting, reminding me again and again of such possibilities and capabilities a human could take to survive in their harsh world.

My brain is starting to hurt so I'll just end it off here.

Thanks for reading~

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page