top of page

Lookism | Manhwa


Disclaimer: This manhwa contains violence and mature themes. Author: Taejoon Park Genre: Drama Status: Ongoing Where can you find it? Korean/LINE Webtoon or just Manga Rock Summary: What’s the fate for an unattractive guy? For Daniel Park, it’s a life of hell as he was harshly mistreated by his classmate. It got to the point that he desperately wanted to change schools. Once he does, a new dilemma appears in his small apartment. Is he in another body? And a smoky hot guy at that? Wait, his original body is sleeping on the floor? How will he handle this tempting situation?

 

Before I start babbling on about this gem of a manhwa, let me just state what the Title means

It’s pretty well known for this type of stereotypical thinking no matter where you are. Idioms like ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ would come into play in this kind of situation. When it really comes down to it, however, do we really look people base on their personality instead of on their looks? That’s the center plot that circles around the manhwa and I think it covered the subject well as a whole. Each of the chapters doesn’t feel that rushed and pulls the readers along steadily with each of the character’s life and perspectives. We get to see different sides of how people would do to simply fit in with others around them. I wouldn’t say the stories had a lot of impacts but it seems just enough to make me want to read another chapter. Comedy is a must for me in any slice of life genres and the manhwa delivered it quite well. It doesn’t seem forced and it flows in just nicely at the right time. It’s almost at a Gintama level but excluding any dirty jokes etc. I wouldn’t say I favor the art style much but I do think it’s rather interesting to see the artist take real-life photos of Korean artist and base it off from there to create a pose for each character.

The images looked blurred out from the original image and only added lines to it later on to have the cartoonic look . It's common to see recycled images in each panel; the small difference is that they crop them out or paste them in a different background. There are a few times that I mistook the characters (especially the guys) since they look similar at some point. It was confusing if not for their personality and hair color. The drastic changes in the beauty of the art is amusing to say the least. One moment you see prince charming walking by and the next, his face turned into something out of a horror movie.

I’m not kidding on that part. It really is fantastically creepy. I love it.

 

Any favorite characters? To set things straight, I love all of them. From their personalities to their physical designs, they all have tugged at my heartstrings respectively throughout the whole story. Despite that, only one of them manages to sweep me off my feet and make me squeal like a little girl. And that unlucky character is none other than….

This is the part where my inner fujoshi burst out from its shell and start blabbering stuff that is going to have spoilers. ╔ = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = ╗ ⚠SPOILERS STARTS HERE ⚠ ╚ = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = ╝ For all his classmates knew, Jae is a man of no words. Literally. The only communication he does is by waving his hands and nodding his head. Only a handful of people could understand him. That includes Daniel Park.

From then on, I get to see the two characters bloom whenever they interact with one another. Jae comes from a wealthy family but he never failed to spoil the friends that he made through Daniel. Especially Daniel Park. His admiration of Daniel can be at the level of either a hardcore fan or a potential love interest. Logical thinking doesn’t really come to mind much whenever Daniel Park is involved. He single-handedly beat up hoodlums who tried to ambush on Daniel and all of that was done in secret. He even went through the trouble of adopting all of the puppies just so he could find the excuse to spend some time with Daniel.

It’s something that I can closely relate to when I see Jae. He’s unable to casually speak with others and makes up for it in other ways to return their kindness. All he seemed to care is some company…..and wanting his Daniel Senpai to notice him. (I ship them so hard <3) ╔ = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = ╗ ⚠SPOILERS ENDS HERE ⚠ ╚ = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = ╝

 

Overall? I’d recommend reading it, really. It adds other genres into the mix but the manhwa mainly focuses more on the slice of life and mystery supernatural (No yaoi , sadly). The quirks they have are somewhat similar to Daily Life of Highschool Boys. So, again, I don’t see why there’s a reason to not to check it out if you’re into this kind of genre. But that’s just my opinion.

Anyways, thanks for reading~

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page