top of page

Day 11 || 30 Day Anime Challenge

 

Favourite Mech Anime

I was beginning to think that I might not be able to answer this question just because I don't usually watch this type of genre but when I checked my list, turns out I did watch a handful of them. One of them that made me all nostalgic was this anime.

Suisei no Gargantia

Alternative Title: Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet

Released: 7 April 2013

Genre: Action, Sci-Fi, Adventure, Mecha

Plot Summary: In the distant future, a majority of mankind have left for the stars and formed the Galactic Alliance of Humanity. The Alliance is engaged in a never ending war with aliens, resulting in an interstellar war to prevent humanity's extinction. Ledo, a 16-year-old boy lieutenant that pilots an autonomous robot named Chamber, joins the battle and was later thrown off to the far reach of space. Crash landing on a planet where water spreads far and wide, Ledo woke up to realise that he was unconscious for months while slowly recovering from his wounds. He and Chamber were then picked up by 'primitive' human scavengers who later welcomed them to their ocean ship, the Gargantia. Chamber informed Ledo that they were on planet Earth, the birthplace of humanity, where it was only familiarized in stories and myths by the Alliance. Not being able to reach out to home base, Ledo decides to coexist with them till he finds his way back home.

After Thoughts & Conclusion

It's been years since I've watched the whole anime so typing this down actually took longer than I'd like it to be. I can say that Code Geass is on par with this anime but what strikes me more for Suisei no Gargantia was Chamber. I remember falling in love with that robot once it did a dry joke to Ledo. Not to mention the voice over is the same seiyuu as Gintoki from Gintama.

The world setting along with the atmosphere of the people living on Gargantia also holds something magical. Watching them living out their lives and adapting by creating interesting devices actually brought a sense of nostalgia of my childhood.(I have a childhood? Oh my~)

Thanks for reading~

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page